BNP brings new faces to standing committee


Mirza Fakhrul, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury and Salahuddin Ahmed were included in the new 19-member policymaking body.

The party announced the full-fledged executive and standing committees today, after holding its national council on March 19 when councillors had endorsed Khaleda Zia as party chairperson and her son Tarique Rahman as senior vice chairman.

On behalf of Chairperson Khaleda Zia, Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir announced the committees at a press briefing at the party’s Nayaplatan central office.

Two posts in the standing committee would be announced later.

The council in March had also empowered Khaleda to constitute the party executive committee and stranding committee.

Earlier, the party declared the names for 41 posts, including that for secretary-general, senior joint secretary-general, treasurer, joint secretaries general, organising secretaries and assistant organising secretaries.

However, some changes were brought in the earlier declared posts.

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/amarpriy/public_html/ on line 308